Back to Search for Boards and Commissions

Agricultural Lands Preservation Committee

Board Information

Energy and Environmental Affairs
The role of the committee is to evaluate, accept or reject Agricultural Preservation Restriction (APR) applications. The ALPC is chaired by the Commissioner of Agriculture and is comprised of state officials and farmers. The role of this committee is to evaluate and accept or reject applications for the Agricultural Preservation Restriction Program (APR) based upon the suitability of land as to soil classification and other criteria for agricultural use; the fair market value of such land and the fair market value of such land when used for agricultural purposes as determined by independent appraisals and the degree to which the acquisition would serve to preserve the agricultural potential of the Commonwealth. The Commissioner may establish rules and regulations to preserve what may be deemed necessary to carry out the program. The committee will submit an annual report indicating the number and geographic distribution of applications accepted and rejected, and the acreage and cost of the acquisitions
4 Year Terms
Members appointed by the governor shall receive $50 for each day or portion of a day spent in the discharge of their official duties not to exceed $600 annually and shall be reimbursed for the necessary expenses incurred

Board Members

↓↓ Sort members table by selecting table header for Member, Seat Name, Appointing Authority, or Term End Date.
Agricultural Lands Preservation Committee Board Members
Member↓↓Seat NameAppointing AuthorityTerm End Date
Ms. Laura Bartlett AbramsFarmer 4GovernorJanuary 4, 2026
Mr. Frederick L. Dabney Jr.Farmer 3GovernorFebruary 8, 2023
Ms. Susan FlaccusFarmer 1GovernorJanuary 1, 2023
Mr. John I. LebeauxCommissioner of Agricultural Resources (Chair)Ex Officio-
Ms. Katherine OrlandoRep. of Land Trust OrganizationGovernorFebruary 8, 2023
Karen SchwalbeRep. of Farm Advocacy OrganizationGovernorJune 11, 2023
Mr. Warren ShawFarmer 2GovernorFebruary 8, 2023
-Secretary of EEA (or designee)Ex Officio-
-Commissioner, DCHD (or designee)Ex Officio-
-Center for Agriculture, UMASS AmherstEx Officio-
-Chair of the Board of Agricultural Resources (or designee)Ex Officio-
-State Conservationist of US Department of Agriculture (Non-Voting)Ex Officio-